Home De(s)pot

No home renovation blog would be complete without a post (read: rant) about Home Depot.  So here is mine.

I would first like to start by saying that if I had to rate my confidence with a drill and hammer, I’d give myself a 7 of out 10.  For the most part, I know my way around power tools and between theater sets and the Peace Corps, I don’t shy away from DIY projects.  Show me how to do it once or twice and send me on my way.

That said, the sheer volume and scale of Home Depot can’t help but be daunting.  There is a Home Depot in the District, and I appreciate them for opening a location in my city.  I will continue to use this store when necessary, as their staff are friendly and helpful whenever I have a question.

The Home Depot in Falls Church, VA, however is a completely different story.  My friends and I asked a staff member for help three times, but he kept telling us to wait for “the drill guy.”  When the drill guy didn’t show up, he came back to us to ask what we needed the drill for anyways.  When I said I was mounting a TV on to a brick wall, he literally laughed in my face.  “Who is going to do this?  YOU? Hahahahah!”  I’m not a particularly sensitive person, but between their complete lack of helpfulness and this blatant sexist reaction – I was pissed.

When “the drill guy” finally showed up, he said any drill would do and walked away.  Then finally another employee walked in our direction and basically confirmed our finds to be “adequate” and we got the hell out of there as soon as we could.

I’ve heard a number of people say, “I hear Lowe’s is better.”  I’ve also heard that you can actually go online at HomeDepot.com or Lowes.com and pre-order all your things and they’ll collect it all and have your order ready for pick up at customer service.  I haven’t embarked on any substantial projects that would require pre-ordering…but it’s definitely something to think about once I start with the flooring.  And the paint.  And the kitchen.  And the basement.  And the windows.

PS – I love Strosniders.  And if I had the money, I’d use their services for everything related to my home.  But at is stands, I can’t.

Leave a Reply

